Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members

Date & Time        Place        Description
Thursday, March 1, 2018-Saturday, March 31, 2018
  Women's History Month. Celebrate and research Women Role Models!
Friday, March 16, 2018-Friday, March 30, 2018
  Filing to be a candidate. Candidate filing deadlines for November 2018 elections
Saturday, March 17, 2018
5:30 - 7:30 pm
Mill Creek Lodge
541 Pike Rd.
Central, SC 29630
Wine Tasting FUNdraiser. RED, WHITE, & IRISH! The 2018 League Wine Tasting Event. Let us know if you need a reservation. Also need volunteers to bring food. Come celebrate the Irish with some wine and support the League.
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Westminster Presbyterian Church
2310 Augusta St.
Greenville, SC 29605

Room 209 A/B
LWVGC General Meeting on Election Integrity - 21st Century. Speaker: Dr. Duncan Buell, NCR Professor Computer Science. The talk will focus on two main topics:

The security of elections in a networked world, where complicated computer hardware is used in the stressful circumstances of a major election, and the ability (or inability) of verifying that voter registration databases and election results have not been corrupted by malware or hacking.
The post-election evidence based analysis and auditing of the results to provide increased confidence that the certified election results are in fact correct.
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
7:15 p.m.
100 Thomas Green Blvd.
Clemson, SC 29631
Health Care Update.
Cookies and conversation at 7:15 p.m. Program at 7:30.
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
7:15 p.m.
100 Thomas Green Blvd.
Clemson, SC 29631
HEALING THE DIVIDE (Note topic change). This is a very special topic in these days of political hostility. Stay tuned for more information.

Cookies and conversation at 7:15 p.m. Program at 7:30.

Thursday, April 19, 2018
7 p.m.
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, SC
Governor Candidate Debate. Sponsored jointly by LWVSC and The West Center
Saturday, April 28, 2018
Columbia, SC State Council Meeting.
Saturday, May 5, 2018
All Day
  Registration Deadline for June Primary. Last Chance to register to vote for the June Primary.
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Occasions at Wedgefield
1551 Eighteen Mile Road
Central, SC 29630
Annual Dinner Meeting. 50th Anniversary Party
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
7a.m. - 7 p.m.
  SC Primary Elections. Don't miss your opportunity to be heard.
Thursday, June 28, 2018-Sunday, July 1, 2018
All Day
Hilton at Chicago, IL 53rd LWV National Convention. Creating a More Perfect Democracy
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
  SC General Elections. Seize your opportunity to be heard.